The Blog

Hello!!

Thank you for reading my blog. In this blog, I will be documenting my semester abroad in London. If you are interested in following my adventure in London, I would love to share it with you. Part of the application process for this trip was to write a couple personal statements. I have included one of them in this introduction. I hope this helps you understand me and my reasons for wanting to go abroad for a semester.

~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~.

Living and learning in an international context is and continues to be an incredibly important element in my life.  In 2002, when I was seven years old, my family and I moved to Cochabamba, Bolivia where we spent four years of our lives. In 2007, my family moved to Bandung, Indonesia where we lived for another four and a half years. In my sophomore year of high school, my family returned to the United States.

When I lived in Bolivia and Indonesia, I developed a passion for diverse cultures, politics and equality. I chose to pursue my degree in International Relations because it would give me an opportunity to study the culture, politics and worldviews of world and learn how to impact the world on a global stage. My degree in International Relations at LeTourneau University requires me to study abroad for one semester. This opportunity will not only combine my love for diverse cultures and travelling  but will also allow me do so in an informed, knowledgeable, and intentional way.

With its focus on professional skills and student preparation, as a polytechnic university, the University of Westminster provides a tremendous opportunity, for both a tremendous educational experience, as well as practical experience via an internship. I am passionate about several areas within International Relations, such as the diversity of political thought in the global world, the fight for human rights, and the manner of political change throughout history. I hope to have the opportunity to take the following courses:  “Geopolitics,” “Human Rights and Global Injustice,” “Revolutions and Political Change,” etc. The idea of being able to study the topics that interest me the most while living in the city I have dreamed of visiting is incredible to me. Not only will I have the opportunity to gain new perspectives and a quality education, but I will be able to experience new cultures, foods, and routines. In addition to studying in London, I will have the opportunity to participate in an internship in London. The program offers internships in several fields – two of the fields which interest me are Politics and Charities & NGOs. The politics option could opens the door to working with a member of parliament’s constituency offices or public relations for political groups and individuals. Although politics greatly interests me, and all of the options look intriguing, the Charities & NGO options look the most appealing to me. This field would allow me to work with refugee support centres, community centres in disadvantaged areas, or international development campaigns. I thoroughly enjoy helping others, and I feel that I am called to do that in my career.

Whichever internship the University of Westminster assigns to me, whether it be in politics, a charity or an NGO, I will thoroughly enjoy the experience because I will be gaining knowledge and practice in the field of International Relations. Although the internships do not offer a stipend, I believe I will gain something more important – experience and connections. I hope to end my semester abroad with a stronger idea of what speciality to pursue in my Master’s education and in my career.

I hope you can see  how excited I am about the whole opportunity to study at the University of Westminster  and to work in London. The education and experience that I will receive will be immeasurable – it will shape my future.

~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~. ~.~.~.~.

Thank you for coming on this journey with me!

Blessings,

Emma

3 thoughts on “The Blog

Leave a comment